4 Tips for Working at Home with Kids – How to Maximize Nap Time!

 

If you’re a mom and a creative, you understand that mixing work and family can be a delicate balance. It’s hard to feel like you are getting anything done or doing a good job in either aspect! Flexibility and self-forgiveness are key.

While I by no means have everything figured out, I am always interested in seeing how other people do it. So in the spirit of community, here is a “typical day in the life of me.”

My day is basically divided into two categories: 1) the kids are asleep, 2) the kids are awake.  Those two factors drive my schedule.

The hours when the kids are sleeping are precious! This is where the real productivity happens so I know I need to work smart! Here are a few ways I try to maximize this time:

  1. Style and photograph product for use in social media. While styling social media photos I have stuff all over the place! So there definitely can’t be little hands stealing my ribbon or crawling into the picture. I find it’s best to style and take as many photos as possible during nap time while the light is good. That way I can do a little editing and posting while the kids are awake but playing by themselves.
  2. Make high priority phone calls. More casual calls can be made while the kids are playing, but for those really important calls, I find it best to have no distractions.
  3. Write! Writing doesn’t come naturally to me so takes a lot of concentration. If I try to write while the kids are awake I get so lost in my thoughts that I don’t notice them emptying my entire box of Kleenex or getting their head stuck in the chair. I like to write early in the morning before the kids wake up or during nap time. This hour or so gives me enough time to get all the thoughts swirling in my head down on the page.
  4. Work! That seems a little obvious, right? I will be the first to admit that when my kids are awake, not much work is getting done. If I try to work on something that takes longer than 10 minutes, there is a 97% chance that my productivity will be thwarted by their suddenly urgent need of fruit snacks. So I use the evenings after the kids go to bed, when I have the longest chunk of time, to work in the more permanent mediums (ink, paint, watercolor, etc).

While my days are far from the world’s ideals, for me, they are perfection. I love being able to be an active part of my children’s lives while still pursuing the things I’m passionate about.

I would love to hear what you do to stay organized and productive while working from home! Leave your thoughts below!

3 thoughts on “4 Tips for Working at Home with Kids – How to Maximize Nap Time!

Leave a Reply

